Securing the future for people with developmental disability

Phone: +61 8 9387 0575


Address: 327 Cambridge Street, WEMBLEY WA 6014

Board Members And Executive Staff

201506 Board & Executive










Ms Julie Beeck BCom GAICD

Chair since July 2015, Board Member since 2001

Julie is Executive Director of Metrix Consulting, a marketing consultancy providing research, business intelligence and marketing strategy to organisations in the public, private and not for profit sectors. Julie has 25 years experience in marketing and market research and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  


Mr Lui Pangiarella BComm(Hons), GAICD, CA

Vice Chair since July 2015, Board Member since 2010

Lui operates his own consultancy specialising, strategy, execution, and cultural change. He is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Australian Company Directors  (GAICD).


Mr Dennis Barton BSc, BEc, FIAA, SF Fin

Treasurer since 1999, Board Member since 1994

A practising Actuarial Consultant since 1980, Dennis has been Chairman of the Association of Superannuation Funds; a member of the State Council of the Securities Institute of Australia; and served on the Activ Foundation Board.


Mr Laurence (Larry) Iffla B. Juris., LL.B. FTIA

Board Member since 1993, Chairman from 1996 to 2015

Larry is a non-executive Deputy Chair of the Perron Group and is Chairman of the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research.  A partner of Iffla Wade, Larry specialises in commercial and property law.  Larry has a brother with a developmental disability and his family has had a long association with Activ Foundation. 


Mrs Leonie Walker OAM

Board Member since 2003, Deputy Chair from 2005 to 2015

Leonie received a 2015 Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for service to people with a disability, and the community.  Leonie has two sons with developmental disabilities and a long history with Active Foundation.  


Mr Ken Booth BSc Dip Ed, M.Ed.Admin

Board Member since 1995

Ken is a practising Civil Celebrant and had a prior 35 year career with the Education Department of Western Australia.  Ken has a younger brother with a developmental disability and is an Honorary Life Governor of Activ Foundation.


Mr Kerin (Kerry) Smart LLB

Board Member since 2009

Kerry spent 40 years as a corporate and commercial lawyer and now focuses on the preparation of Wills, Testamentary Trusts and Powers of Attorney – particularly Protective Trusts for incapacitated beneficiaries. Kerry has a family member with a developmental disability.


Mr Jeremy Roberton BE (Civil)

Board Member since 2014

Jeremy runs his own project management consultancy.  He was recruited to the Board after the takeover of Planned Individual Networks (PIN) and has a son with an acquired brain injury.


Ms Yvonne Parnell GradCertDisSt, GAICD

Chief Executive Officer

Yvonne joined Future Living in 2008. She was previously an Executive in the corporate sector. Yvonne is a member of the South Metropolitan Health Service Board incorporating Fiona Stanley and four other hospitals.


Ms Erica Bishop

Executive Assistant/Coordinator

Erica joined the Future Living Executive Team in 2009 and manages the office administration, Managed Trust Fund services, coordinates the Personal Support Service and the volunteers. 


Ms Elizabeth Michael

Executive Assistant/ISN Coordinator

Elizabeth joined the Future Living Executive Team in 2015 and manages the Trust’s marketing and the Individual Support Network program and facilitators. Elizabeth previously worked in Marketing and Communications at the University of WA.